전체상품목록 바로가기

본문 바로가기

맨위로

Beasts of a Little Land
  1. 작가

    Juhea Kim

  2. 긴제목

    Beasts of a Little Land

  3. 상품 요약설명

    김주혜 작가의 가장 한국적이고 가장 세계적인 데뷔작. 먼 미국땅에서 한반도의 독립 투쟁을 위해 살아낸 사람들의 이야기. "톨스토이 스타일의 작품"이라는 찬사를 받으며 전세계인의 마음을 움직인 소설

  4. 번역서

    작은 땅의 야수들

  5. 출간일

    2022-11-01

  6. 가격

    10,600원

  7. 판형

    Paperback

  8. ISBN

    9780861544424

  9. 출판사

    Oneworld Publications|https://dbbooks.co.kr/shopSearch/search.html?query=Oneworld Publications

  10. 정가

    £8.99

  11. 원산지

    London, United Kingdom

  12. 장르

    Contemporary | War | Romance | Historical

  13. 크기/정보

    129 x 198 x 30mm , 368g, 416 pages

  14. 배송비

    2,500원 (10,000원 이상 구매 시 무료)

정기결제
구매방법
배송주기

정기배송 할인 save

  • 결제 시 : 할인

개인결제창을 통한 결제 시 네이버 마일리지 적립 및 사용이 가능합니다.

>상품 옵션
옵션선택

위 옵션선택 박스를 선택하시면 아래에 상품이 추가됩니다.

상품 목록
상품수 가격
수량 수량감소 수량증가 10600
옵션 정보
총 상품금액0 (0개)

할인가가 적용된 최종 결제예정금액은 주문 시 확인할 수 있습니다.

『Beasts of a Little Land』은 지난 수십 년간 이어져 왔던 대한민국의 독립 투쟁과 그 격동의 세월 속에 휘말려 살아갔던 사람들의 이야기다. 다양한 등장인물을 통해 인류를 하나로 묶어줄 사랑과 공감, 연민 등의 가치를 일깨운다. 김주혜 작가는 “단지 지금으로부터 백 년쯤 전, 여기서 멀리 떨어진 작은 땅에서 살았던 한국인들에 관한 이야기일 뿐 아니라, 전반적으로 인류 전체의 인간성에 관한 이야기라고 생각하며 썼다”고 말한 바 있다. 김구 선생을 도와 독립운동에 관여했던 외할아버지의 이야기를 어린 시절부터 듣고 자란 재미 작가의 첫 장편 데뷔작이 일제강점기 한국을 배경으로 하는 것은 어쩌면 필연적인 일이었을 것이다.


폭넓은 서사와 호흡을 보여준다는 점에서 톨스토이의 작품을 연상케 하고, 일제강점기에 한국인이 겪었던 뒤틀린 운명을 그려낸다는 점에서 동시대를 배경으로 하는 『파친코』도 떠오른다. 대하소설을 좋아하는 독자, 절절한 사랑 이야기를 좋아하는 독자는 물론, 성별과 세대를 아울러 널리 읽힐 대작이다. 


* Longlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Longlist 2022 *

'A stunning achievement’ TLS

'Unforgettable' Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai, author of The Mountains Sing

As the Korean independence movement gathers pace, two children meet on the streets of Seoul. Fate will bind them through decades of love and war. They just don’t know it yet.

It is 1917, and Korea is under Japanese occupation. With the threat of famine looming, ten-year-old Jade is sold by her desperate family to Miss Silver's courtesan school in the bustling city of Pyongyang. As the Japanese army tears through the country, she is forced to flee to the southern city of Seoul. Soon, her path crosses with that of an orphan named JungHo, a chance encounter that will lead to a life-changing friendship.

But when JungHo is pulled into the revolutionary fight for independence, Jade must decide between following her  own ambitions and risking everything for the one she loves.

Sweeping through five decades of Korean history, Juhea Kim's sparkling debut is an intricately woven tale of love stretched to breaking point, and two people who refuse to let go.


< Review quote >

'Beasts of a Little Land is a stunning achievement. Juhea Kim wrestles with the chaos of a half-century of love, idealism, war and violence, and does so with courage and wisdom.' -- TLS 'Full of Korean myth and historical detail, it's an immersive read for a long weekend.' -- Stylist 'This is historical fiction at its very best! I am astonished by Juhea's talent.' -- Nguyen Phan Que Mai, internationally bestselling author of The Mountains Sing 'Stunning... Profound... This novel will devastate you and then still you with its wise meditations on love and loss. I couldn't put it down.' -- Alexis Schaitkin, author of Saint X 'Juhea Kim's sweeping debut is pure reading pleasure. Rapturous, ravishing, and gorgeously rendered, Beasts of a Little Land is a portal to a whole world teeming with life, so full of wonders I wanted it never to end.' -- Catherine Chung, author of The Tenth Muse 'Beasts of a Little Land is a heartbreaking story rendered mythic by Kim's gorgeous prose.' -- Jing-Jing Lee, author of How We Disappeared 'A magnificent, mesmerizing story of love and war... Cinematic in its scope, this is the type of novel that the reader finishes both with pleasure (for its satisfying denouement and pleasing circularity) and with sadness (at having to leave the story behind).' -- New Internationalist 'Some people say that all stories are about either love or war. Set against the backdrop of early 20th-century Korea, Kim's epic debut novel is about both.' -- Harper's Bazaar US, 'Best Books of 2021' 'Covering most of the twentieth century across the Korean peninsula, Kim's debut novel wondrously reveals broken families and surprising alliances created by uncontrollable circumstances. Kim creates multiple narrative prongs, effortlessly navigating overlaps and disconnects... Richly alluring and significant.' -- Booklist (starred review) 'Gorgeous prose and unforgettable characters combine to make a literary masterpiece.' -- Kirkus, (starred review) 'Kim's dreamy, intense debut is both a sure-footed historical account of the Korean struggle for independence from Japan and the emotionally fraught story of several people whose lives are inextricably tied together... The prose is ravishing.' -- Publishers Weekly 'Elegant and wise, lush and immersive, Beasts of a Little Land is Tolstoyan in its sweep and ambition as it brings to life the Korean struggle against Japanese occupation and the making of a modern nation in the first half of the 20th century. Juhea Kim is a conjurer of rare ability whose magnificent debut utterly enchants.' -- Keija Parssinen, author of The Unraveling of Mercy Louis 'In Beasts of a Little Land, Juhea Kim has taken the concept of inyeon - human thread - to weave a beautiful story in which human connections and encounters are preordained. She explores the ideas of fate, fortune, and destiny against the backdrop of the great turbulence and historic events that transpired on the Korean peninsula during the twentieth century. A spectacular debut filled with great characters and heart.' -- Lisa See, author of The Island of Sea Women 'You wouldn't know from reading it that Beasts of a Little Land is Kim's debut novel. There is no shortage of ambition on display here, and fleet-footed narrative pacing to match it... A book written with warmth [and] wisdom.' -- USA Today 'Beasts of a Little Land is an emotional, raw, and moving novel about friendship and the struggle for Korean independence. It is a novel unlike anything I've read. Most importantly, though, it is a novel about love. Juhea Kim writes beautifully in a way that makes it difficult to put this novel down. I loved it.' -- Brandon Hobson, National Book Award finalist and author of The Removed 'An immersive historical novel set in occupied Korea with a sweeping cast of characters whose lives intersect over half a century.' -- Lit Hub, 'Most Anticipated Books of 2021' 'Jade is a courtesan, sold into the trade by her family when starvation is the only other option for her. JungHo is a beggar on the streets of Seoul. Together, they are the compelling protagonists of an exciting debut that takes us through a vast arc of 20th-century Korean history, lending an achingly human lens to sweeping historic events that still reverberate today.' -- Globe & Mail 'Juhea Kim's ambitious debut novel is an epic saga spanning fifty years of Korean history... It's a potent and immersive reading experience, alive to the particulars of its place and time. Intimate but politically resonant, it's perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee and Isabel Allende.' -- Chicago Review of Books 'Gorgeous... This transporting and elegant tale of complicated characters whose lives intertwine during the Korean independence movement of the early Twentieth Century is not to be missed... Kim's vivid and precise descriptions of place glow.' -- Departures Magazine 'An extraordinary debut novel...this is a sweeping epic that spans the turbulent decades of Korea's fight for independence... Through her magnificent prose and unforgettable characters Kim has created a literary masterpiece of love and war, and the alliances created by uncontrollable circumstance.' -- Business Day 'Would you believe I read this 400-page epic story about war and love across decades of South Korea's history in a single sitting A debut novel that opens with a tiger encounter in the snowy mountains, it's a twist on historical fiction that roars with life.' -- Entertainment Weekly 'Unrequited love, class warfare, scandal...this novel has it all.' -- Real Simple, 'Best books of 2021' 'Kim delivers one of the dazzling debuts of the year with this epic story.' -- E! Online 'Powerful, romantic and wholly unforgettable.' -- Ms. Magazine 'Captivating... The times the characters must survive are often violent and harsh, but they maintain a surprising tender-heartedness, along with a deep need for love and purpose. Readers should expect to be swept along themselves by the waves of passion and tragedy that make the novel so appealing.' -- Shelf Awareness 'This epic historical novel offers an entrancing glimpse into a colourful world of love and conflict.' -- Daily Mail, 'Must Reads'

< About Juhea Kim >

Juhea Kim was born in Incheon, Korea, and moved to Portland, Oregon, at the age of nine. She is the founder and editor of Peaceful Dumpling, an online magazine at the intersection of sustainable lifestyle and ecological literature. She earned her BA in Art and Archaeology from Princeton University. Her writing has been published in Granta, Catapult, Joyland, Times Literary Supplement, Independent, Zyzzyva and elsewhere, and Beasts of a Little Land is her debut novel. After a decade in New York City, Kim now lives in Portland, Oregon.

글읽기 권한이 없습니다.

 "19세 미만의 미성년자"는 출입을 금합니다!

성인인증 하기

리뷰
번호 제목 작성자 작성일 조회 평점
2 너무 읽고 싶었던 책이에요. ㅎㅎㅎ 스마트스토어(ic****) 2023-10-09 15 5점
1 올해 목표!! d-80 스마트스토어(syks********) 2023-10-07 26 3점

상품후기쓰기 모두 보기

첫 페이지 이전 페이지
  1. 1
다음 페이지 마지막 페이지

배송정보

  • 배송 방법 : 택배
  • 배송 지역 : 전국지역
  • 배송 비용 : 2,500원
  • 배송 기간 : 1일 ~ 3일
  • 배송 안내 : - 산간벽지나 도서지방은 별도의 추가금액을 지불하셔야 하는 경우가 있습니다.
    고객님께서 주문하신 상품은 입금 확인후 배송해 드립니다. 다만, 상품종류에 따라서 상품의 배송이 다소 지연될 수 있습니다.

교환 및 반품정보

교환 및 반품 주소
- [04779] 서울특별시 성동구 성수일로 55 (성수동1가) SK테크노빌딩 지하1층 101~102호

교환 및 반품이 가능한 경우

- 상품을 공급 받으신 날로부터 7일이내 단, 가전제품의
  경우 포장을 개봉하였거나 포장이 훼손되어 상품가치가 상실된 경우에는 교환/반품이 불가능합니다.
- 공급받으신 상품 및 용역의 내용이 표시.광고 내용과
  다르거나 다르게 이행된 경우에는 공급받은 날로부터 3월이내, 그사실을 알게 된 날로부터 30일이내

교환 및 반품이 불가능한 경우
- 고객님의 책임 있는 사유로 상품등이 멸실 또는 훼손된 경우. 단, 상품의 내용을 확인하기 위하여
  포장 등을 훼손한 경우는 제외
- 포장을 개봉하였거나 포장이 훼손되어 상품가치가 상실된 경우
  (예 : 가전제품, 식품, 음반 등, 단 액정화면이 부착된 노트북, LCD모니터, 디지털 카메라 등의 불량화소에
  따른 반품/교환은 제조사 기준에 따릅니다.)
- 고객님의 사용 또는 일부 소비에 의하여 상품의 가치가 현저히 감소한 경우 단, 화장품등의 경우 시용제품을
  제공한 경우에 한 합니다.
- 시간의 경과에 의하여 재판매가 곤란할 정도로 상품등의 가치가 현저히 감소한 경우
- 복제가 가능한 상품등의 포장을 훼손한 경우
  (자세한 내용은 고객만족센터 1:1 E-MAIL상담을 이용해 주시기 바랍니다.)

※ 고객님의 마음이 바뀌어 교환, 반품을 하실 경우 상품반송 비용은 고객님께서 부담하셔야 합니다.
  (색상 교환, 사이즈 교환 등 포함)

게시물이 없습니다

상품문의하기 모두 보기

관련상품

상세검색

분류

    구분

      형태

        카테고리

          어워드

            시리즈

              powered by 샵서치
              첫 페이지
              이전 페이지
              {$paginationNo}
              다음 페이지
              마지막 페이지